

## **CITY OF MONROE GENERAL ELECTION 2022**

At the 2022 General Election on November 8th, the positions of Mayor and **three** City Councilors will appear on the ballot. Each candidate for the Mayor or City Council must complete Form SEL <u>101</u> and return it to City Hall **by 5:00 PM August 30, 2020**. This form is available at city hall, Benton County Elections, Secretary of State's office and on the websites for county and state elections.

If you wish to have your personal information included in the County Voters Pamphlet it should be provided to Benton County Elections by September 12th; a fee of \$25 is required. Please contact the Benton County Elections Office at 541-766-6756 for more information. Benton County Elections would appreciate receiving materials in advance of the deadline due to the extreme efforts they are faced in preparing for printing the voter's pamphlet in a very short time frame.

## Open positions include those currently held by:

Mayor Dan Sheets along with City Council members Tony Baker, Jeanni Cuthbertson and Nicole Knott have terms that all expire during this election cycle.

All positions are non-partisan and volunteer/non-paid and the terms begin in January 2023. The mayor's term is for two years; the Council term are for four years. The Council's regular meetings are scheduled for the 4<sup>th</sup> Monday of each month, unless otherwise modified due to holidays or other unforeseen issues.

New elected officials are sworn in at a special council meeting on the first available Monday in January. It is staff's expectation that the swearing in of elected city officials will be on January 9, 2023.

## **Qualifications:**

To qualify as a candidate for office you must have resided within the City during the twelve months immediately prior to the election and be a registered voter for that same period of time within the City of Monroe. Please contact the City of Monroe at 664 Commercial Street, or by calling 541-847-5175 should you have any questions or need assistance.

Jennifer Davis, Monroe Elections Officer <a href="mailto:Jennifer.davis@ci.monroe.or.us">Jennifer.davis@ci.monroe.or.us</a>